mewe

Yesterday, I found out that Fr. Dwight Longenecker was leaving Facebook. He posted the link to www.mewe.com and invited his followers to join him on the MeWe social media platform, which is an awful lot like Facebook but without the privacy concerns. Today, he has posted on his blog about leaving: Facebook? I’m Outta Here.

So I’ve switched over to a new social media platform. MeWe is simpler to use, has no advertising, does not track you, does not share your information. Its free, but you only have a limited amount of space to post stuff, so if you want to put up lots of videos and pictures they invite you to pay a monthly fee.

I have also started a MeWe account. You can add me to your contact list here. Will I be deactivating Facebook? Probably not. You see, the Passionist Nuns just joined Facebook a few days ago, so I want to keep a presence there and help to share their content. (Find them here.) Certainly, I will be spending more time at MeWe and on Twitter than on Facebook.

Incidentally, many people are participating in a “black-out Facebook” day tomorrow. The goal is to get as many people as possible to stay off Facebook for one day as a way to protest the privacy problems Facebook is having.